Southerners visit the Yanks

Fun fact! Rhode Island has the BEST food EVER. From Hot Weiners to the famous Lobster Rolls to Stuffed Quahogs to the Italian food. Let me share a little about our trip!
Now I was born in Rhode Island but raised in Virginia since I was 2, my husband on the other hand was born and raised in the South.
This being his first trip EVER and my first trip in 7+ years we were pretty excited!
We were not let down by the beauty of RI or the food.
Let me start with the food.
Iggys on Oakland Beach serves up the best Clam Chowder (Red, White, and Clear) and clam cakes! All very reasonably priced. I tried my first stuffed Quahog there and ended up eating 3 they were SO good! My husband tried out a lobster roll, needless to say he is hooked on them and I have to try to figure out how to make this at home. Hellooooo Pinterest!!!!
Lets not forget about Hot Weiners, they are by far the best RI trademark food. N.Y. System in Olneyville is the best of course but Santoros does a pretty good job at them too! Perfect if you don’t feel like driving to a N.Y. System!
Hands down our all time favorite restuarant in Rhode Island is Marchetties! The best Italian food that we have ever tasted. For $15 a plate you can easily feed atleast 2 people off one plate and you will probably still have leftovers!
I highly recommend the Seafood Alfredo, it must have atleast 1 pound of pasta in the bowl with a HEAPING amount of shrimp, scallops, and lobster, can you say AMAZING. The Veal Cutlet Parmesian is also out of this world!  I rememeber eating this as a little girl when we would go visit my grandfather , needless to say it was just as good as I remembered it being! My parent’s had highly recommended The Calamari, I can’t remember the name of the style it was cooked but it was fried calamari with olives and banana peppers.. Try it, I promise you wont be let down!

To conclude, we are now back home in Va, of course we are SO happy to be back home because lets be real, there is no place like home… We have decided that going out for dinner is no longer going to be even remotely good after experiencing real RI food.

Leave a comment